If you’re a driver who doesn’t always move over for emergency and police vehicles, Pennsylvania State Police want you to know they are ready and waiting to cite you for violating the state’s Move Over Law as part of a special enforcement initiative from July 22 to July 28.
In a news release, Pennsylvania State Police at Bethlehem said Troop M–which patrols Lehigh, Northampton and Bucks counties–will be placing “even greater emphasis…on detecting ‘move-over’ violations during the enforcement period.”
Below is video footage from YouTube of Pa. drivers failing to follow the Move Over Law.
“A proactive approach (will be taken) to address ‘move-over’ violations by adopting a zero-tolerance policy toward these violations, which continue to be identified as (a) danger to law enforcement and other emergency responders along the the highway,” the news release states.
Below is the text of Pennsylvania’s Move Over Law, along with information about penalties for those convicted of violating it.
The Move Over Law enforcement effort is a part of the 6 State Trooper Project, which Pennsylvania State Police is a coordinated effort by troopers from Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky and Michigan.
§ 3327. Duty of driver in emergency response areas.
(a) General rule. When approaching or passing an emergency response area, a person, unless otherwise directed by an emergency service responder, shall:
(1) pass in a lane not adjacent to that of the emergency response area, if possible; or
(2) if passing in a nonadjacent lane is impossible, illegal or unsafe, pass the emergency response area at a careful and prudent reduced speed reasonable for safely passing the emergency response area.
(b) Penalty. Any person violating subsection (a) commits a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, pay:
(1) For a first offense, a fine of not more than $250.
(2) For a second offense, a fine of not more than $500.
(3) For a third or subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $1,000.
(b.1) Suspension of operating privilege.
(1) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (2), in accordance with section 1540 (relating to surrender of license), the department shall suspend the operating privilege of any person for 90 days