Temple/St. Luke’s Medical Students Graduate (Sponsored)

Credit: SLUHN

Temple University’s Lewis Katz School of Medicine celebrates their 116th commencement ceremony at the Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts in Philadelphia May 14.

During the four years of medical school training, students can either study, sleep or have a social life, but never all three, joked Joel Rosenfeld, MD, M.Ed, FACS, Chief Academic Officer, St. Luke’s University Health Network, and Senior Associate Dean, Lewis Katz School of Medicine (LKSOM) at Temple University.

After four years of intense study and clinical experience, 29 Temple/St. Luke’s medical students graduated on May 14, 2018 at the Kimmel Center in Philadelphia.

“Graduation is truly a culmination of many years of hard work and preparation,” said Dr. Rosenfeld. “From high school through college and then throughout medical school, medical students have to be singularly focused and committed in order to succeed. I am very pleased that our students have met these challenges, far exceeded our expectations and have proved themselves ready for the next step of their training in their chosen residency programs.”

St. Luke’s Students Win Awards – Local Physician Honored

At an award ceremony for 200 graduates of the Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University, St. Luke’s students received top honors.

Jonathan Hunt won The J. Robert Willson Research Award, awarded in memory of J. Robert Willson, M.D., Professor and Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology from 1947 to 1963. The recipient of this award exemplifies outstanding critical and analytic thinking, strong interest in research and great promise for pursuing a career in the reproductive sciences.

Hunt was also honored with The School of Medicine Service Award, awarded to a member of the graduating class who, through leadership and service, has made outstanding contributions to the life of the medical school.

David Strauss of Orefield took home the A. Richard Kendell Award for Excellence in Urology. Established by A. Richard Kendell, M.D. ’56, this award recognizes outstanding aptitude and interest in the field of urology.

James Anasti, MD, Director of Student Activities for Temple/St. Luke’s and Clinical Professor OB/GYN for LKSOM, was recognized with the Drs. Henry P. and M. Page Laughlin Award for excellence in clinical teaching, as selected by Temple/St. Luke’s students.

Four Temple/St. Luke’s graduates were inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and five students were inducted in the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

*inducted in the Third Year

Gold Humanism Honor Society

  • Alvin George
  • Jonathan Hunt
  • Shelby Sferra
  • Alexandra Stough
  • Brian Warden

Note: This story was contributed by St. Luke’s University Health Network. Its publication is part of a local health news partnership between Saucon Source and SLUHN.

Leave a Review or Comment