Community Family Schools

Congratulations to the Saucon Valley High School Class of 2023

Saucon Valley 2023 Graduation

A talented group of students who spent much of their high school tenure weathering the COVID pandemic said goodbye to those uncertain times and hello to a bright future during Saucon Valley High School commencement exercises Friday.

Est. Read Time: 10 mins
Saucon Valley 2023 Graduation

The Saucon Valley High School Class of 2023 graduated at commencement exercises held Friday at the school district stadium. The approximately 170-member class (Photo by Chris Christian)

A talented group of students who spent much of their high school tenure weathering the COVID pandemic said goodbye to those uncertain times and hello to a bright future during Saucon Valley High School commencement exercises Friday.

Approximately 170 members strong, the Class of 2023 graduated in an outdoor ceremony held in the district’s Montford E. Illick Stadium. Although the mercury had soared to the mid-90s Friday afternoon and there was a threat of thunderstorms in the area Friday evening, the event was held as scheduled at 6:30 p.m. and without any weather-related disruptions.

The valedictorian for the Class of 2023 was Edison Wu, who plans to major in Business Administration at Washington and Lee University, and the salutatorian was Emily Chi, who plans to major in mechanical engineering and psychology at Northwestern University. Senior class officers included:

  • President Joshua Torres, who plans to major in business administration and management at Moravian University.
  • Vice President Katelyn Pequeno, who plans to study environmental science at Dickinson College.
  • Treasurer Bret Sheasley, who plans to complete a general course of study at Northampton Community College.
  • Secretary Anna Baukal, who plans to major in communications and marketing at Widener University.

The student-selected speaker was Michael Dalessio and the faculty speaker for the ceremony was math, phsyics, computer science and robotics teacher Robert Svitilla.

Members of the Saucon Valley High School Class of 1973 were also recognized during the ceremony, upon the 50th anniversary of their graduation, as were three graduates who will be entering the U.S. Marine Corps: Mason Beckowski, Liam Nowak and Brady Waterman.


Jacob Albert, Ishdaly M. Alicea, Dayten Alling, Hannah Anthony-Duffy, Sophie Olive Babashak*, Joshua Baer, Anna Sophia Baukal, Mason Edward Beckowski, Ryan R. Bonfrancesco*, Lily Grace Botts, Skylar Noelle Bray, Kaily Rose Brennan, Dakota S. Brinker, Kayla Marie Brown, Ashlee Brunell, Aaron C. Brunell, Sofia Rose Bruneo, Liam Buck, Brandon Bucsi, Alexis Budline, Paul Butera, Bryce Campbell, Emily Chi*, Summer A. Coffin, Zachary Copeman, Matthew L. Corcoran, Zoie Coronado, Allison M. Cort*, Kyle J. Courtney, Sean Creveling, Hunter P. Crookham, Michael Dalessio, Gabriella Elizabeth Daniel, Elliott Reese Deily, Sofia J. DeMotte, Daniel Laurencio Diaz, Luke A. Donat, Ava Dyer, Sophie G. Engelhardt, Reed Ernst, Ciarra Marie Espinosa, Arielle Kaylee Fan*, Cailee Truth Farkas, Marcus R. Flowers, Owen R. Frederick, Xavier Fritz, Andrea Juliette Gerboulet, Cheyanne R. Gibson, Camryn Gonsalves*, Sara Good, Justin Grullon, Damien Mitchell Harris, William Tucker Hasselbusch, Seth T. Heiserman, Amanda Humphries, Mehreen T. Hussain, Nathaniel H. Iorio, Erin James, Kush S. Javia, Colden G. Jeanmonod, Laura G. Johnson, Anastasia R. Jones, Jacob Christopher Jones, Cydae Joseph-Davis, Rachel J. Kazanecki*, Caitlyn Keeney, Jacob E. Klotz, Ryan Kozero, Finnegan Martin Kramer, Joshua Michael Krzyewski, Teegan Lannon*, Cody J. Lasko, Kyle P. Laub, Hannah L. Leayman, Zachary Lebo, Evan Leibert, Amanda Denise Leidy, Jason Lin, Sonia Lloyd*, Abigail Gene Luftig*, Kayla Alexis Luybli*, Amelia Mackey, Alexander C. Magnotta, Evan Louis Malone, Monica Valentino Mannino, Peyton Markle, Issabella Kaydence Martinez, Lilyanna S. McCarty, Devanie Rose McCormick, Asia K. McDonald, Nery Rafael Meono Jr., Sailor C. Miga, Samantha A. Misczenski, Devin A. Morris, Julien X. Newhart, Tracey Nicolas, Liam Nowak, Joshua E. Orlemann, Leandra Ortiz, Sara N. Pagnani, Olivia Noel Paulson, Manuel E. Paz Osuna, Katelyn Marsh Pequeno, Spree Elyse Perez, Aubrey Jane Petersen, Thomas Francis Peterson Jr., Tyler Pfizenmayer, Clairissa Mary Phillips*, Sabrina Ramirez-Theurer, Hannah Grace Rayner, Tyler Jacob Reich, David W. Reith, Zachary Rex, Brett Anthony Rickle, Travis J. Riefenstahl, Gia M. Rivera, Al-Quide Davon Vernon Rivers, Hannah F. Robertson*, Javier Rene Rodriguez Jr., Kayla Faith Rosado, Kasey Royse*, Braedon M. Rupert, Adam Savage, Alexander Schmidt, Ava Schneider, Liam James Scrivanich, Bret A. Sheasley, Ryan Jacob Shoemaker, Miranda A. Sieger, Emma Mary Skiba, Nolan N. Smith, Courtney L. Snyder, Elaina Lechae Solivan, Morgan T. Staats, Emma R. Statler, Sean R. Stauffer, Gabriel Anthony Stoneback, Rubi Suazo, Brandon D. Thompson, Louis G. Tiboldo*, Joshua I. Torres, Aaron Scott Trexler, Emily L. Trudniak, Oscar Valencia, Katarina M. Van der Walt, Eli A. Vasilou, Wilfredo Velez, Rocco Anthony Viscito*, Michael Wakely, Kieran P. Walsh, Maggie Wang, Mason Alden Warnke, Logan Wasel, Brady M. Waterman, Nathan A. Weber, Alana Lillian Brooks Weirbach, Ronald W. Werkheiser III, Nathan Alexander White, Michael Whiteman, Ethan Wildrick, Caitlin Marie Wingertzahn, Edison Wu*, Yujie Yan*, Eric S. Yankowy Jr., Shane Yardumian, Dillon Ryan Young, Cathleen Ann Ziegafuse, Henry Zimmerli

*Indicates honors graduate


Photos by Chris Christian

Edison Wu was the valedictorian for the Saucon Valley High School Class of 2023. As a student at SVHS, he participated in Calculus Club (president), SGA, Debate, NHS, FBLA, Model UN, Scholastic Scrimmage, Cross Country, Swimming and Tennis. He plans to attend Washington and Lee University in the fall.

The Class of 2023 salutatorian was Emily Chi, who participated in Aevidum, Robotics Club, Leo Club, NHS, Model UN, Lacrosse, Basketball and Tennis at Saucon. Chi plans to attend Northwestern University in the fall.

The senior class president, Joshua Torres, participated in Football, Track, Paranormal Club and student government at Saucon Valley. He plans to play football at Moravian University, which he will attend in the fall.

Senior class vice president Katelyn Pequeno participated in Robotics Club (president), Theater & Stage Crew (stage manager), NHS, Environmental Club, Peer Leadership Committee, EcoAmerica Climate for Health Ambassador, Global Scholars, Faith Youth Leader and Faith Production Team during her time at Saucon. She plans to attend Dickinson College in the fall.

Mathematics, physics, computer science and robotics teacher Robert Svitilla was the faculty speaker at Friday’s graduation ceremony.

Michael Dalessio was the student-selected speaker at Friday’s graduation ceremony. A member of the Saucon Valley basketball and football teams, and a participant in Minithon, Dalessio plans to major in exercise science at Lebanon Valley College, which he will be attending in the fall.

SGA treasurer Allison Cort recognized the Saucon Valley Class of 1973 during her remarks at Friday’s graduation ceremony.

SGA co-president Hannah Robertson introduced faculty speaker, teacher Robert Svitilla, at Friday’s graduation ceremony.


Subscribe to receive our newsletter in your inbox every Monday, Wednesday & Friday.

Please wait...

Thank you for subscribing!

About the author

Chris Christian

Leave a Comment